noobepic.blogg.se

Pearl jam albums 2015
Pearl jam albums 2015











pearl jam albums 2015

I thought it would be good if we all just traded on it. The tempo is so fast you don’t have a lot of time on each set of changes. “It’s got those beautiful modal changes and the bar of three in the middle- I just thought it would sound really nice in an organ setting.”ĭonald Byrd’s Fly Little Bird Fly is “…kind of like Giant Steps but not so rapid. “I don’t know if there are any other recordings of that,” says Remon. The new album has several pieces composed by other people, including Anton’s Ball by Bobby Hutcherson.

#Pearl jam albums 2015 how to

“Binker would always get us to think about time and feel, and how to improvise- how to play as a band.” The Middlesex University jazz course followed, where they were “…very keen on people developing their own sound.” Remon studied with, among others, Nikki Iles, Chris Batchelor and Gareth Williams, “…who was always trying to get me to work on my technique so I had more facility.” He spent two years working on a wide repertoire. He’s got some of that Woody Shaw language and sound, but also fronts a band called Zeñel doing electronic stuff.” Remon was just 16 when he joined the Warriors band mentored by Binker Golding. He’s actually a great guitar player as well. Remon’s jazz education continued through membership of Tomorrow’s Warriors, where he met Wilkins.

pearl jam albums 2015

I’ve seen Jim Mullen play over the years… and I was blown away… Mike Gorman introduced me to him.” Dave Holland and Roy Haynes were on the Metheny album and they linked back to Miles Davis and Chick Corea… Grant Green I checked out quite early, and over the last few years Peter Bernstein has become a huge favourite of mine. ”…two albums in particular- Pat Metheny’s Question and Answer, which is an incredible album, and Pat Martino, that famous live album where he plays Sunny for about 15 minutes. So how did Remon get into jazz? His father played a lot of guitar-based rock music around the house: “Nirvana, Chilli Peppers, Pearl Jam… my mum used to play random compilations of classical music that she bought when I was a baby that I used to fall asleep to!” It was Remon’s high school guitar teacher Carlos Olmos who introduced him to jazz. It’s a mixture of lesser-known tunes and originals. If your first album features guitar duets with well-known guitarist Jim Mullen ( reviewed here), where do you go next? “The new album was really fun to do because it was a chance to play with three of my favourite musicians,” says Remon. L-R: Mike Gorman, Tom Remon, Shaney Forbes, Laurence Wilkins













Pearl jam albums 2015